A new diagnosis…..

When you hear the words Mitochondrial Disease your heart drops to your feet. It is like hearing your son has a cancer than is not treatable. For Mitochondrial Neurogastrointestinal Encephalopathy there is no treatment except to treat symptoms. Treat pain with pain medication, get a wheel chair when they lose their ability to walk, get hearing aids when they can no longer hear, have therapy the rest of your life, and know that you are lucky to live to 30 years old. Well with Michael if his brother is a correct match and doesn’t have either gene that he inherited from us, with a bone marrow transplant Michael may live a longer more “normal” life.

Michael is living on hemp hearts and sugar. We have found out that one of Michaels main reactors is corn and with Mitochondrial that makes sense as his mitochondria are just too tired to digest carbohydrates and corn is hard to digest. I have learned so much from wonderful moms on our journey, but I am asking everyone for help www.youcaring.com/savelittlemichael as we can not afford this on our own. Thomas and I had Michael as newly weds, we wanted to have children young and we felt ready. Neither one of us knew that we were carriers of bad genes as neither one of us had any major medical issue. We have come together stronger to help our son Michael fight. Starting two years ago I prayed daily for a miracle, part of me thinks that Matthew is Michaels miracle. Matthews cord blood could save Michael. I could have two happy, healthy boys.

There is so much going through my head, and the hardest part about all of this is that we finally found out the week before Thanksgiving. A time to be happy and thankful with family, instead of the typical cooking all day to sit around and eat all day, I blew it off. I didn’t cook anything, in fact my father-in-laws wife dropped off food for us to sneak-eat in the kitchen. We gave thanks that we have our little boy and that we still have enough courage to fight for his life. I saw this coming, ever since we got his genetic profile, just wasn’t sure that both of us had given him the gene. We did, and I feel awful, but I would have Michael all over again.

Michael opens up peoples hearts, he makes you smile even if you are a grumpy man standing in line in the biggest rush of your life. He just does something cute that makes you smile. He calls everyone pretty and thinks that everyone is good. People flock to his smile and say his laugh is contagious. He is my whole world and I love him, this is my letter to the world begging you all to help me save my sons life.

MNGIE is not kind, so let’s fight hard!

Leave a Reply

